Lady Catherine de Bourgh’s High Tea

I was cordially invited to a High Tea “hosted by Lady Catherine de Bourgh”, courtesy of the USYD Darcy Society, so yesterday afternoon I skipped off to the Queen Victoria Building in a pretty frock for two hours of lavish dining. I was joined by Darcy Soc members, as well as some lovely friends who were drawn to the promise of tartines and clotted cream.

I thought I was well-dressed, but my dear friend Kate outdressed us all. I had opted for a 50s ensemble in accordance with my usual fare, donning my most recent purchase: the blue velvet dress. Kate, however, had come entirely in Victorian costume. Her outfit was constructed from items already in her wardrobe, and was wildly impressive. You can enjoy her ladylike figure in the myriad of photos below.

The tea itself was splendid, as expected. The Tea Room was a wonderful host, and provided three-tiered stands of delectable canapes. It made me anxious to purchase “The Vintage Tea Party Book” by Angel Adoree, which I’ve been stalking online and lusting after as I live vicariously through other vintage bloggers.

Voila, some photos:






Dress: vintage 50s, from “Shag” on Oxford St, Sydney
Lace gloves: from a vintage store in Bellingen, but I theorise that they’re not vintage
Belt: Alannah Hill
Clip-on earrings: thrifted
Hair flowers: Sportsgirl
Stockings: Leona Edminston
Shoes: Bloch

And here are some pictures from our little photoshoot around the QVB, post-tea:



2 Comments

Filed under Vintage Events

2 responses to “Lady Catherine de Bourgh’s High Tea

  1. Looks yummy! And you look fantastic. I love that dress. Beautiful.
    -Andi x

  2. Pingback: Old Hat: the November Vintage Social | Ravishing Retro

Leave a Reply

