Outfit Post: October 10

I must confess my failure to you. I took a pledge to buy nothing new this October, but today I absent-mindedly violated this promise. I’m so bitter at myself circa midday today, when I wandered into Dangerfield with the best of intentions… I emerged with this [very useful!] blue cropped cardigan and an [also very useful] black belt, essentially buying half my outfit for the day. It wasn’t for two blissfully ignorant hours that I realised my mistake. It seems consumerism has permeated my consciousness so deeply that I forgot my pledge against it and had this violent outburst of shopping. On the down side, I failed at Nothing New October. On the bright side, I have a fabulous cardigan and made it ten days consuming only vintage and used goods – that’s mildly impressive. I’ll continue for a week into November as penance.

I had swing dancing after class today, so I donned a petticoat as per tradition. I also donned some rather unusual victory roll-style curls. I’ve been experimenting with my hair a little, and created this style on a whim. I’m a fan – it looks lovely with my hair back in a ponytail. Having my hair back in a ponytail is, incidentally, quite significant; it hasn’t been this long for over three years. I ordered a snood off etsy to celebrate which I daresay I’ll be wearing very soon on this blog. Buckle in for long-haired Michelle.





Dress: Laura Ashley
Cardigan: Princess Highway
Necklace: vintage 50s costume jewellery, from Camden Passage markets in London
Pantyhose: Sportsgirl
Shoes: Bloch
Glasses: from a store in Guernsey, UK

I’ll be back on the blog soon with reports from Old Hat, the Sydney vintage social some friends and I organised for this Thursday (please attend!), plus some pictures from the Love Vintage fair and Black Cherry this weekend. It’s a wonderful week for vintage events in Sydney.

5 Comments

Filed under Outfit Posts

5 responses to “Outfit Post: October 10

  1. I also took a pledge to stay away from shopping for a while, some weeks ago – then I went and bought a new pair of shoes… 🙂

  2. i also wanted to stay away from shopping this october but i failed … planning a thrift tour on next saturday aswell.

    love your dress and your new cardi matches it perfectly.

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

  3. Michelle,
    Thanks for your lovely comment on my blog! I hope you didn’t think I was staring I just loved your outfits and I think I recognized you from somewhere. I think perhaps the 50’s fair. Next time you see me come and say hi. The hubby and I have only been in Sydney 3 years and none of our friends are really into vintage so it would be nice to talk to some like minded people! x
    P.s Your blog is fab!

  4. Michelle Garrett

    We were totally at the Fifties Fair, so that’s probably where you’ve seen me before. Hopefully we’ll see you next month at “Old Hat” or I’ll run into you at some vintage event or other. This is why we created “Old Hat”: so we can all rally together over our love of old things. It’s lovely to see other Sydney-based vintage bloggers are around – all the blogs I follow are interstate or overseas.

  5. Pingback: Outfit Post: October 28 | Ravishing Retro

Leave a Reply

