Old Hat: The Inaugural G&T

The first soirée for Old Hat was thrown Thursday night with great aplomb! Fabulous frocks were everywhere to be seen, and cocktails were sipped enthusiastically for several hours. It was so nice to have young vintage-loving people gathered together in such a heavy concentration – I don’t think the contented smile left my face for the entirety of the night.

Though we made a brief detour, our location du jour was Hinky Dinks in Darlinghurst. It’s a fabulous retro venue, only recently opened and decorated in the style of a 50s diner. As you’ll see in the photos that follow, the decor is really quite amazing – I love the classic 50s fridge, the bar stools, the chequered lino floor, and the mint green-red colour scheme.

The drinks were also divine at Hinky Dinks. I had the Gin ‘n’ Jam cocktail which features gin, cranberry juice (I think, but my memory might fail me) and rose petals among other ingredients. Delish! I was particularly intrigued by the Hinky Fizz cocktail which was served in a little ice-cream tub complete with a tropical umbrella and a scoop of sorbet. Also delish! Seeing as the Old Hat mission statement claims absinthe as one of our core values, we also tried the Zombie, which was très strong, but absolutely smashing. Hinky Dinks has totally, utterly won me over.

I’ll treat you to the photos:

We made for quite a picturesque bunch sitting by the window in the little bar area at Hinky Dinks.

The Gin ‘n’ Jam and the Hinky Fizz.

The adorable Kath reading from a pin-up adorned drinks menu. Too cute!

I mean seriously, everything at Hinky Dinks is so adorable. They gave out little boxes of rosemary popcorn to everyone – I think we may have consumed more than was necessary.


It was especially lovely to meet Molly from Molly Made who came to Old Hat as a sort of group blind date (kudos). Her presence was such a treat. I think she may be the answer to my problem of sewing incompetency.


A moment of appreciation for Tim who was dressed like a respectable 1930s fellow, having just had his hair done at Sterling in this rather fetching do.


Plus some appreciation for Jesse who was dressed in a fab early 60s dress, and Nick who was channeling 1950s rockabilly man.


Here is the whole ensemble of Old Hat attendees. Note Coco in the divine red 50s frock, and Gila standing by in her fetching velvet blazer. Behind us you can see Hinky Dinks in all its glory – check it out! Seriously.

What I wore:


I had come from uni, so I was sporting a more casual ensemble – though I admit I did go thrifting after class to complete the outfit, lest I wear something substandard to Old Hat’s Inaugural G&T, of all occassions.

Blouse: thrifted
Skirt: Naf Naf (a French high street store)
Belt: thrifted
Stockings: What Katie Did
Shoes: Bloch
Necklace: vintage 50s, bought in Camden Passage in London
Hair flower: Sportsgirl

I can’t wait for the next Old Hat event to come.

Leave a comment

Filed under Old Hat, Vintage Events

Leave a Reply

