It’s Always a Mojito Moment

Mojitos top my list of classic cocktails; they’re always classy and always delicious. I’ve had countless mojitos in my time as a legal drinking adult, and save for one unfortunate incident with a dark rum mojito, they are yet to disappoint me.

Apart from being delicious, the mojito has always seemed to me a particularly old-fashioned drink. Having investigated this further, I have discovered that the drink has a very illustrious history. It seems Ernest Hemingway himself was devoted to the mojito after it was first mixed up in Cuba in the 40s; and Ernest Hemingway was a very dapper man. Legend has it that he would frequent Bodeguita de Medio, a bar in Havana, where he would take his mojitos without sugar, but with a twist of grapefruit. Oh Hemingway. I feel like his literary spirit must linger amid the other spirits that mingle to create the mojito I continue to enjoy in 2011. Just a theory.

Not all mojitos were created equal. That is why I popped into the Green Room Lounge Bar in Enmore with my friend Alyssa last Friday night, for the mojitos there are perfect concoctions. We had a lovely mojito date, spending happy hour in earnest discussions of travel, lingerie, blogging and the like. Speaking of which, you can check out Alyssa’s blog here.




Dress: Sarah-Jane
Cardigan: Topshop
1950s bakelite bangles: Peppergreen Antiques, Berrima
Belt: Dangerfield
1950s necklace: Camden Passage markets, London
Hair flower: Sportsgirl

2 Comments

Filed under Eat/Drink

2 responses to “It’s Always a Mojito Moment

  1. Aaaah, fabulous! Thank you for the blog linkage. My poor blog… I should probably show it some love sometime soon. It’s about as neglected as the Bali boy’s ill-fated stash of marijuana.

  2. Pingback: Old Hat: the November Vintage Social | Ravishing Retro

Leave a Reply

