Pastel Jewellery (Practically Perfect in Every Way)

For a rendezvous to Newtown last night, I themed my outfit around this exquisite 1930s brooch my friend Kath gave me as a birthday gift.

It’s a splendid pastel number with diamontes, and conveniently, matches a 1950s jewellery set I own with almost alarming precision.

So with these pastels in mind, I opted for a bit of yellow in my ensemble, donning this 1940s blouse I bought on Etsy. It’s made from an odd sort of tea towel-esque fabric, and I’m very fond of it. Usually I have terrible trouble buying blouses – I always get distracted by the racks of colourful tea frocks.


I tied this ribbon belt around my wait as a ribbon belt for the beige linen skirt. It originally belonged to this dress, but I suppose I’d forgotten about it until now. The colours seemed to match the jewellery set quite pleasantly.

And then there’s the bag! Oh, the bag! – it’s so wonderful. I bought it at the vintage fair I worked at in November, but I’d seen it before in a shop window on Enmore Rd. This pairing (the bag and I) was meant to be.



1940s blouse: Maybel 57
Linen skirt:
Ark, Cambridge
Ribbon belt: from dress by Lazy Bones
1930s brooch: birthday gift (thank you Kath!)
1950s necklace: Camden Passage Markets, London
1950s sunglasses: Emporium, London
1950s/60s bag: “The Way We Wear” fair
Flats: Accessorize

2 Comments

Filed under Outfit Posts

2 responses to “Pastel Jewellery (Practically Perfect in Every Way)

  1. Bex

    I know that bag! I was eyeing it off in that vintage shop too, but it was just too $$! Nice 🙂

  2. What an adorable brooch! Love the all the colors of the flowers together 🙂

Leave a Reply

