Las Vegas: Elvis, Justin Bieber and other Wax Statues

I have just a couple more Vegas snaps for you before I settle back into chronicling my sartorial life in Sydney again. Despite having been back now for nearly two weeks, my blogging has been so scarce that I’m yet to run out of material. Consequently, this is sort of two outfit posts in one, with an eye on some lovely gentlemen I met in Sin City.

The first set of photos I have for you are artfully posed beside one of my favourite retro gentlemen: dear Elvis. Vegas seems to have a thing for Elvis, actually, which made the souvenir stores quite a bit more tempting than anticipated, and a walk down the strip endlessly exciting. This wax replica of young Elvis stood outside Madame Toussard’s which was, oddly, in my hotel. We had quite a moment:

Cardigan: Louche, London
1950s Puerto Rican skirt: The Attic, Vegas
Necklace: Mother’s
Hair flower: Sportsgirl

I’ve always been skeptical about Madame Toussard’s, but after years of cynicism, I finally made it in. How shamefully touristique! Anyway, enough about the museum, and more about Justin Bieber. Check this out:

I’m afraid I don’t have the outfit credentials for Justin, but I can tell you mine. I’m wearing a delightful Anthropologie frock I picked up when I visited Boston in January, paired with some very plane-appropriate plaits, inspired by Andi B Goode.

Dress: Anthropologie
Cape: SoWa Markets, Boston
Shoes: Bass Shoes
Belt: Review

And so ends the Vegas posts! I do have a guest post on Las Vegas for Aussie on the Road in the works, plus a sneaky trip to Melbourne with the famous lovers of Like Johnny and June to see Dita Von Teese next weekend, but apart from that all is quiet on the Sydney front. I’ll be back soon with updates on all of these things, plus news from the Old Hat picnic extravaganza. In the meantime, have a lovely weekend!

3 Comments

Filed under Old Hat, Outfit Posts, Travel

3 responses to “Las Vegas: Elvis, Justin Bieber and other Wax Statues

  1. Oh my god you guys are going to see Dita in Melbourne. I am insanely jealous. I would have love to have gone but we don’t have the money so I look forward to everyone’s posts about it! x

  2. oh, your dress from the Attic is totally adorable. good buy.

    http://wardrobexperience.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

