Nuffnang’s Blogopolis 2012

I made it to Nuffnang’s Blogopolis, my first blogging conference, this month in a flurry of pin-curls and endless cups of Twinings tea. It was a curious kind of day, with almost 300 bloggers floating ’round (mixing with their own kind), and the wildest live Twitter feed I’ve ever seen.

There was a lot of mutual admiration going on. I loved all the blog people-spotting – Lady Melbourne, Danimezza, Hair Romance etc. etc. I met some pretty lover-ly people as well – the gloriously kooky Hayley of Fashion Hayley of whose blog I’ve always been fond, the very captivating Kayla of The F Tangent who I met outside the venue (she just exuded fashion blogger vibes), and the quite fabulous alternative fashion extraordinaire, The Fashionate Traveller. Here’s a snap of us together in the afternoon:

With Fashion HayleyThe F Tangent, The Fashionate Traveller

Amongst all of this, I actually managed to Learn Stuff. Sessions on SEO, media kits, branding and the like all left me feeling pretty inspired to overhaul Ravishing Retro when I have the time (and Photoshop skills). The afternoon sessions focussing on the Australian blogopshere were a tad vague and self-indulgent, but I took away an appreciation for the emergence of blogging as a pretty powerful and radical new media force. Indeed!

There was a lot to take in (information, food…), and as such I’m still synthesising a lot of what I learnt at Blogopolis, but I do feel like it was a wildly valuable experience. If the heavens align, I’d love to attend Fashionopolis next year, Nuffnang’s fashion blogging equivalent of Blogopolis – I daresay it’d be a lot more relevant to my blogging experience, and oh, just imagine the eye candy.

Most of all, it was just kind of fun to exist in the microcosm of the blogging world for a couple of hours. Every microcosm has its quirks and in-jokes (and sometimes its own hash tag), and it was fun seeing the physical manifestation of all this in a conference room. All the unreserved geeking out about social media was cathartic to say the least.

Many thanks to Nuffnang for hosting the blogging extravaganza that was Blogopolis 2012. I have enough new blog-y links to fill my Google Reader, and enough Twinings tea in my handbag to last me ’til at least October.

All photo credit to The Fashionate Traveller – thank you kindly!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

