Tidings from London

So many London delights. These first few days I’ve been dragging my suitcase over cobblestones, staring into vintage stores, catching the tube all over town, and drinking ALL the English Breakfast tea. London is so unashamedly cliché, like a parody of itself. The double-decker buses and policemen in helmets emblazoned on all the tourist merchandise are legitimately swarming about the city. Tourist fantasies are never disappointed.

London doesn’t disappoint my retro fantasies either. I arrived yesterday and popped straight over to The Diner in Islington, where I have a history of drinking mojitos and spiked milkshakes. It’s a diner-starved Australian’s retro dream: all red booths and rockabilly music. Alas, 8:30am was a little keen for a mojito, but I enjoyed coffee in the surrounds and appreciated the hipster waitress fashion. So much contentment.


I stayed in Portobello Rd last night, dangerously near the London What Katie Did boutique, where I bought ALL the seamed stockings. It was inevitable. WKD do metallic seams these days, which are just a little bit ridiculous and amazing. Also, polka dot contrast seams! I also managed some sheer gloves. Pix to come of all these treasures.

Winter fashions are fun. I’m enjoying my Fab Gabs 60s angora trapeze coat, perhaps a little too much. Stockings and cashmere and scarves, oh my. Plus so many opportunities for hat-wearing, mmmm. Here is the ensemble du jour:


60s coat Fab Gabs | Frock Sarah-Jane, Newtown | Cardigan Quick Brown Fox | Capelet Boston | Shoes Urban Outfitters

The plan is to depart London tomorrow, but I’ll be back soon for three weeks of swing dancing, vintage shopping, cafe-dwelling and the like. Until next time, sleepy tidings! Jet lag is a cruel mistress.

3 Comments

Filed under Travel

3 responses to “Tidings from London

  1. faz

    Best line ever: Tourist fantasies are never disappointed.

    Very nice!

  2. Jealous! I just moved back to Canada from London, where I have lived on and off for the past five years. There is an AMAZING new vintage store in Crouch End called Scarlet Rage Vintage, which is definitely worth the trek up north if you have time, even though it is a bit of a faff. Have a great trip! I hope you come home with a suitcase full of amazing finds.

  3. Ohh, I do love the Diner. Om nom!

Leave a Reply

