Maastricht

I’m still in Maastricht, The Netherlands, still in 60s trapeze coat (now with added leopard print scarf). Lots of bicycles, lots of fries, lots of incomprehensible menus. It’s too cold to take my hands out of my pockets to take photos, but here I am in the Grand Square, also known as the Vrijthof (I swear I’m not making up words).

Let’s play a game: which of the following words are really Dutch, and which are just me mashing at the keyboard then adding double vowels?
a) bezienswaardigheden
b) hewtysaagreid
c) toernooi
d) tyornaadich*

Now here I am next to an incomprehensibly-named Church, showing the trapeze coat in all it’s glory:

And here’s the positively to-die-for 110 euro velvet cape I *didn’t* buy:

Ugh, it’s all too much. If anyone needs me, I’ll be camped out beside the velvet evening coats in a Maastricht vintage store called Grifth or Graaght or Grirth or something.

I promise some scenic gothic church hotel vintage fashun photos for my next blog visit. Until then, tot ziens.

*A and C are Dutch, but I’m pretty sure they’re all made up, really.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Maastricht

  1. Aimée

    It’s very funny to see someone from another country visit Maastricht (where I grew up), and then go to France (Where my family is originally from). I hope you had a great time in Maastricht and going to have a great time when you go to France! 🙂 And yes, we do quite have a funny language :p
    Greetings from Heerlen (it’s a small town just next to Maastricht)…

Leave a Reply

