Vintage Fangirling Rural Australia

I’m back in Australia, but away again – this time visiting Grandma and co. in the country for family Christmas. I’m entirely a city girl, but I’m willing to sacrifice reliable wifi for country antiquing and family time every now and then. The country always sends me into reveries, what with the stuck-in-the-50s vibes of some little towns. Rural Australia is peculiar and adorable.

I’m on the North Coast of NSW, where the nearest “town centre” is a sleepy strip of shops in Macksville. It’s totally daggy, but there is much old-fashioned charm. The Bridge Café, the milk bar by the river, always brings out the vintage fangirl in me. It’s all original and fabulous and oh-so-kitsch. Still the same fifties diner fit-out, still the same classic menu (vanilla malt milkshakes, devonshire tea). Mother remembers it all the way back to the 60s. That is many, many decades of milkshakes.

IMG_3716

IMG_5568
IMG_3684
IMG_3713
IMG_3718
IMG_3714
Ugh.

After consuming several litres of dairy, I went into the Macksville antique store, which is probably one of my favourite antique stores ever. In the country vintage isn’t so expensive, and there are all sorts of fun treats: little record players, boxes of old newspaper clippings… It being the country means there are wonderful/strange things to find too: vintage ear muffs. Such delights!

I’m trying desperately to deal with the heat, and so it is that I swanned around in this era-indeterminate cotton square dance frock for the afternoon. I even managed to keep my lipstick from melting for a few hours. Small victories.

IMG_3727

More to come on my rural immersion. So many nautical frocks, so little time.

Michelle

4 Comments

Filed under Eat/Drink, Travel

4 responses to “Vintage Fangirling Rural Australia

  1. Marie-Claire

    That is such a lovely dress Michelle I would love to find one like that or similar for a 1950’s theme 21st birthday I have been invited too … any idea where I can obtain one?

  2. That café/milk bar is completely adorable! I love the way you find places like that in the country – like a little time capsule that people keep on loving. It’s beautiful.

  3. i adore nautical dresses. these are hard to find sadly … but this little cute number you’ve found here is totally great. awesome find.

  4. I am road tripping back to Sydney tomorrow, so will make it a point to stop in at the diner in Nambucca.

Leave a Reply

