En France, encore

Bonjour, some more updates from la capitale gastronomique de la France.

I’m in La Croix Rousse right now, still searching for somewhere to live. I’m consumed with apartment-searching, spending hours on the internet, making brave phone calls to real estate agents, making visits. It’s sort of frustrating not having somewhere to live, but it’s also sort of beautiful up here where I am. This is the view of Lyon as you walk down the grand hill towards the centre of town:

IMG_5805
IMG_5806
It’s cold en ce moment, but oh, the fashions. Here I am swanning about the hotel lobby where every morning I ask to extend my stay just another night, and can I please have another wifi code? Merci.

IMG_5804

FASHION.

I’ve had some lovely hot beverages with Sydney people: welcome reprieve from all the French-speaking. I went to this adorable café with Heather, who’s here to study at the same university. The café was decorated with vintage bric-à-brac, and played 1940s music. Sigh!

IMG_5813
I also managed a rendezvous with Alex, a fellow Darcy Society devotee back in Sydney who has just finished a semester here in Lyon. We sought out some French Jane Austen, because one should always seek out Jane Austen.

IMG_5841

Yesterday I also walked through my university. It’s so preeeeeetty.

IMG_5838

All that being out-and-about is tiring, so more often than not I retire in the early evening to eat French bread and do lazy google searches for apartments. Evidence of French bread:

IMG_5844

Things will be even more lovely once I find somewhere to live. I’m having intense nesting urges, and can’t wait to have a place to hang all my frocks. There will also be French cooking. Much French cooking.

I’m off to look at apartments this afternoon (quelle surprise), so à bientôt, and bonne journée. Gros bisous de Lyon.

Michelle

4 Comments

Filed under Travel

4 responses to “En France, encore

  1. Good luck with apartment hunting! Gosh must be kinda frustrating (but don’t beee!) not having anywhere to move in just yet!! Hope you’re enjoying it! I’m rather jealous!

  2. OMG – apartment hunting in Lyon is terrible! It took me a while to find mine too. If you haven’t find any place yet, please feel free to mail me – I don’t live in Lyon anymore but I still have some friends there. Who knows, maybe we could help you 🙂 !

  3. Good luck! I can’t wait to visit France one day, I know I would love it! You look lovely as always!

Leave a Reply

