L’Université à Lyon

Bonjour,

I’m at university, je suis à la fac! Last week there was orientation, tomorrow I start classes. Actually. The campus of Lyon II is ridiculously pretty, and even though I actually have most of my classes in the ugly buildings, I get to glimpse all the grand lecture theatres and elaborate stairwells every now and then.

The classes I’m taking are super-cool. I’ll be doing literature and translation and gender studies, mmm. I’m most excited about my gender/language class, on the gendered grammar of French language. It gives me little francophile feminist flutters. I’ll also be reading some eighteenth century French literature, L’Etranger, Virginia Woolf and all manner of wonderful things. And everything will be in French, bien sûr. Many happy sighs!

Here is the pretty part of Lyon II, covered in snow no less.

IMG_5897
IMG_5894
IMG_5893
IMG_5891
IMG_5895
IMG_5888
IMG_5898

Some exciting blog updates to come. I spent Saturday with the lovely Sabra The Blueberry Pie, a burlesque girl who shares my twins passions of vintage and feminism. Many splendid pictures were taken. Also this week I’m visiting Riikka of Harlean’s Heyday in Finland, to attend the Vapriikki-Vintage weekend, and meet the Fintage crowd. All the things!

A bientôt !

Michelle

5 Comments

January 21, 2013 · 9:30 am

5 responses to “L’Université à Lyon

  1. Wow! How marvelous is this place!? You are certainly on an exciting and education adventure!

    xoxo
    -Janey

  2. OMG i can’t imagine attending uni in French! How fluent are you? Technically I did attend uni in my second language but English is so much easier than French I think? :p

  3. Sabra the Blueberrypie

    Nora, I’m french and I assure you Michelle is really fluent in french 🙂

Leave a Reply

